Inkscape
lastmod 2025-12-30created 2020-04-0440 edits
Inkscape is a vector graphics editor. The goal of the program is to be a complete open-source implementation of SVG as a W3C standard.
The program name is a blend of "ink" and "landscape".
It is open-source free software released under the GNU GPL. Inkscape runs on Linux, Mac OS X, other Unix-compatible operating systems, and Microsoft Windows.
About
Keymaps
-
m- Use the measure tool.
Meaning of levels
Levels can be adjusted as follows.
- Move up one level (Raise)
- Move down one level (Lower)
- Move to the top (Raise to Top)
- Move to the bottom (Lower to Bottom)
Think of it as Z-Order.
- A "level" being "lower" means that, in the actual drawing, it was drawn "first",
- "A shape whose level is "higher" was drawn "later".
Meaning of path splitting/editing
Path splitting/editing has the following methods.
- Union - Merges two paths into one; the paths in the overlapping area disappear.
- Difference - Subtracts the other object from the base object. The subtracted object's area disappears.
- Intersection
- Exclousion
- Division
- Cut Path
Here, the "base object" means the image on the lower level, that is, the object drawn first.
The above features work only after clicking the "Edit paths by nodes" button.
Cut Path (Ctrl + Alt + /)
Splits paths at the intersections of two paths.
The important point is that the last selected object disappears and acts as the cutting line (Path).
If you want to keep that line, instead of a plain copy and paste of the object, use "Paste In Place (Ctrl+Alt+V)" so that two identical lines (Paths) exist, and then run "Cut Path".
Examples
Cutting a shape in half
TODO: Add screenshots and clean up.
- Set "Relative" to "Last selected".
- Create the original shape.
- Create a new rectangle covering the area to remove. (Its height or width must match the original shape)
- Select both shapes and use "Align" so that one edge of the shapes touches. (e.g. "Align left edges")
- You can cut it with the "Path > Difference" menu.
Cropping a pasted image
- Paste the image.
- Draw a rectangular area over the region of the image to crop with the "
Create rectangles and squares (F4)" tool. - Select the image and the rectangle together, then click
Object > Clip > Setin the menu.
Resizing the canvas to fit the object
Select Edit > Resize Page to Selection in the menu.
How to align an object to the center of the page
- Select the object
- Right-click -> Group
- Object menu -> Align and Distribute (Shift+Ctrl+A)
- In the Align panel:
- "Relative to:" → select "Page"
- Horizontal center: click "Center on vertical axis"
- Vertical center: click "Center on horizontal axis"
Splitting text into individual characters
- ungrouping text to manipulate individual letters
- Using Inkscape to Make Templates for Cutting Machines
You must convert the text to path first (with Path → Object to Path, or Shift+Ctrl+C). Then you can ungroup the letters of your text with Ctrl+U and modify it with the node tool.
Inkscape-to-make-templates-cutting-machines-1701892-0.png Inkscape-to-make-templates-cutting-machines-1701892.png
Converting text to a Single Stroke
I've got a workaround. It's a bit lengthy but if you've only got a few characters to edit it should be fine.
- Outline your text
- Cut the ends of the text off with the
Scissors Tool. Then separate the two lines (select the nodes on one line, cut, then paste in place was how I did this). - Object>Blend Options (set the Blend to Specified Steps = 1) hit OK. Then Object>Blend>Make.
- Object>Blend>Expand and delete the two outer lines.
Text-font-single-path-illustrator.png
Resizing the page to fit the object
In the latest version of Inkscape (0.92.2 at this time), you can go to Edit → Resize Page to Selection or press Ctrl+Shift+R.
How to split a path into two
Inkscape_-_split_path.gif
Click the "Break path at selected nodes" button in the top menu bar.
How to vectorize an image
Select Path > Trace Bitmap in the menu.
How to separate by closed path
Inkscape_-_break_apart.gif
When there is a single object and you want to split it back into separate objects per closed path, click "Path > Break Apart" in the menu.
Adding a 3D effect
Copy the object to create one with exactly the same path order. Then select the Extensions > Generate from Path > Interpolate menu.
Ask-a-font-creator-creating-a-3-d-effect-in-inkscape.jpg
Placing text along a path
Select the text and the path (Path) together, then select the Text > Put on Path menu.
Text_to_path_inkscape_1.jpg
Text_to_path_inkscape_2.jpg
Creating a Cylinder
| |
| See Inkscape:Examples:CreateCylinder for details. |
Joining two paths (Path) into one (Join)
See Inkscape:Examples:JoinPaths for details.
Rounded Corner Rectangle
How to make a rectangle with rounded corners:
- Select the object
- Select the menu Path > Path effects
- Add Corners (Fillet/Chamfer) by clicking on +
- Adjust the size of corners with the node tool by dragging green nodes or in the dialog