Eclipse:CDT
lastmod 2019-01-25created 2019-01-252 edits
Eclipse CDT (C/C++ Development Tooling)
The CDT Project provides a fully functional C and C++ Integrated Development Environment based on the Eclipse platform. Features include: support for project creation and managed build for various toolchains, standard make build, source navigation, various source knowledge tools, such as type hierarchy, call graph, include browser, macro definition browser, code editor with syntax highlighting, folding and hyperlink navigation, source code refactoring and code generation, visual debugging tools, including memory, registers, and disassembly viewers.
Plugin installation
After installing Eclipse, the CDT plugin can be installed with the steps below. <span style='color:red;'>(The method below is obsolete)
-
Menu > Help > Install New Software... -
Select Work with > Indigo - http://download.eclipse.org/releases/indigo -
Select Programming Language > C/C++ Development Tools -
Select Programming Language > C/C++ Development Tools SDK -
Select Programming Language > C/C++ Library API Documentation Hover Help (Incubation)
The latest CDT can be installed as follows.
- Go to the CDT homepage and copy the CDT repository URL for your Eclipse version.
-
Menu > Help > Install New Software... - Apply the copied CDT repo URL and update.
For reference, Kepler can be set up as follows. (Updated 2013-08-15)
- CDT 8.2.0 for Eclipse Kepler
- Eclipse package: Eclipse C/C++ IDE for Kepler.
- p2 software repository: http://download.eclipse.org/tools/cdt/releases/kepler.
Setting up a MinGW MakeFile project
In MinGW, make.exe is named mingw32-make.exe. For a Makefile project, change the Builder setting as follows.
-
Menu > Window > Preferences > C/C++ > New CDT Project Wizard > Makefile project > Builder setting - Uncheck
Use default build command. - Change
makeinBuild commandtomingw32-make.exe. (You can also change it in the form${~MINGW_ROOT}/bin/mingw32-make.exe.)
CDT C++11 Setting
Describes how to apply C++11 in CDT. In Eclipse CDT 4.4 Luna, set the syntax parser as follows.
Window -> Preferences -> C/C++ -> Build -> Settings -> Discovery -> CDT GCC Build-in Compiler Settings
In the Language Settings Provider Options group at the bottom, add -std=c++11 to the Command to get compiler specs EditBox.
See also
Favorite site
- Eclipse CDT homepage
- How to set up a C/C++ build environment with CDT 1
- How to set up an Eclipse CDT build environment (Linux & Windows)
References
-
Cdt_mingw_setting.pdf ↩