Skip to content
Search

Blender:UVMapping

lastmod 2018-08-17created 2018-01-221 edits

UV Mapping lets you map textures onto a mesh.

Basic usage is as follows

  1. Switch the Edit type to 3D View.
  2. Select the object (Object) to edit.
  3. Switch to Edit Mode.
  4. Using edge select (Edge select), select edges so that they enclose (Loop) the piece to map the texture onto.
  5. Open the tool shelf (Tool shelf) in the 3D View.
  6. Cut it into pieces using Mesh Tools > UV Mapping > Mark Seam.
  7. After cutting all the pieces, select all the meshes to map.
  8. Convert to UV Mapping using Mesh Tools > UV Mapping > Unwrap.
  9. Switch to the UV/Image Editor and check the cut meshes (Mesh).
  10. Click the 'Keep UV and edit mode mesh selection in sync' button at the bottom of the UV/Image Editor to sync with the mesh.
  11. Rearrange the layout to map.
  12. Export the image to map to a file using UVs > Export UV Layout at the bottom of the UV/Image Editor.

How to use the edited image is as follows

  1. Select Properties > Textures
  2. Type of texture data to display and edit: select Show Material Textures
  3. Type: Image or Movie
  4. Image > Open
  5. Mapping > Coordinates: UV
  6. Mapping > Map: UVMap

See also

Favorite site

References


  1. Blender2.6_make_cup_tutorial.zip ↩